baby blythe

d + r = baby b

Thankful + Update

1 Comment

I’ve been a terrible baby blogger (my apologies!) but I’ve been working like a mad woman trying to get my classroom and sub ready for my upcoming absence. I only have 15 (school) days left until my maternity leave starts, and it’s really freaking me out! I’m starting my leave about a week prior to my due date, because I wanted to end on a Friday (just to make it easier on my students and the sub.) Hopefully I’m not just sitting around waiting for baby to come–and even if I am, I’m sure I’ll have some Christmas presents to wrap. šŸ™‚

Since tomorrow is Thanksgiving, I thought I’d take a moment to give thanks. I have so many things I am thankful for, and it would be impossible to list them all, but here are a few. For starters, I’m thankful for this 2 hour fog delay, which is allowing me the extra time to write this post. šŸ™‚
I’m thankful that my body has given me the opportunity to get pregnant and carry this baby. In a few days (only 12) baby will be considered full term, and I will (finally) be able to let out a huge sigh of relief. This pregnancy has been stressful (though third trimester has by far been the least stressful) and I honestly haven’t been able to be very relaxed and care-free. Don’t get me wrong: I’ve tried to enjoy my pregnancy as much as possible, but there have been several hiccups and bumps along the way.

I’m thankful for my strong and healthy son or daughter who continues to wake me up at night with his/her movements. Thanks for letting mommy know you’re okay in there!

I’m thankful to have a wonderful, caring, and supportive husband who is just as excited about our baby as I am. He talks to my belly nightly, and he likes to hold my belly, because it’s like he’s “holding the baby.” I know he will make an amazing father, and I cannot wait to see that side of him.

I’m thankful for my supportive family and friends who have been a constant source of comfort. Numerous people have reached out to me during this time, some of which have been completely unexpected. Our families have also been supportive (emotionally and financially) and I couldn’t be more grateful for their constant care and support. There is one thing I know for sure: this baby will never run out of people who love him/her.

I’m thankful that I am able to take some time off work, even if it’s not as long as I’d like. Likewise, I’m thankful for my health insurance, which will help to keep me and my baby safe and healthy.

I’m thankful for my body pillow, as it’s probably the only thing that’s allowing me to get any sleep at all, even if it’s only a few interrupted hours.

I’m thankful for decaf coffee, because I can’t tell a difference in taste, and I like to trick my body into thinking its getting a caffeine fix every morning.

I’m thankful for maternity jeans/pants and leggings. When finding things to wear every morning is a battle, at least I can count on these few staple items.

I’m thankful for my husband’s job and prosperous family business. I’m equally as thankful for my father-in-law who will allow David some time off when the baby is born.
I could make a list a mile long, but I’ll stop there. Truth be told, I couldn’t be more grateful this holiday season.

David and I have continued to take weekly belly pictures, but I have been SO BAD about transferring them to the computer to upload. I promise to post some pictures soon.
And now for a small update on the baby: When I went in at 34 weeks, baby Blythe was breech, and I was convinced then and there that baby would stay that way and I would have to have a c-section. However, when we went to the doctor at 35 weeks, baby had flipped and is now head down (at least for now!) Also, I am currently 1 centimeter dilated and 70% effaced. While that may be TMI for some of you, I figure if you’re reading this, you’ll be okay with knowing that information. šŸ™‚ At first I thought that it was way too early for me to be dilated at all, but my doctor reassured me that it was fine and it didn’t mean I was going into labor by any means. I could go in to labor tomorrow, or I could stay this way and not progress for weeks. There is no way of knowing. Baby B will decide when he/she is ready to make his/her appearance. I cannot wait to meet you, baby!

Here’s to Thanksgiving, and the last one we’ll have as a family of two.

 

One thought on “Thankful + Update

  1. I can’t wait to meet baby B! You are David are going to be the most wonderful parents.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

