baby blythe

d + r = baby b

Snot Sucker

2 Comments

When you’re a mom, you do some things that you don’t want to do. I don’t want to wipe poopy butts; I don’t want to do laundry every 12 seconds (okay, not really, but it seems that way); and I especially do not want to suck my baby’s snot out of his nose. But guess what? I do it. And guess what? I use this:

nose-frida-main-product

Now before you go all “Ewwww!” and “Gross!” on me, the picture is a little deceiving. Yes, I suck Porter’s boogers and snot out of his nose, but there’s a filter in this little contraption. His snot never actually enters my mouth, which I think really needs to be clarified for a lot of people. When I first saw this product, I thought it was totally disgusting as well. But then a few moms recommended it to me and so I registered for it, and someone bought it for us (a really awesome someone…Thanks, Jody!) I never knew if I’d ever have to use it, but in the past (almost) 5 months we’ve used it quite a few times. However, none of these times were as successful or important as last night (err…this morning) at 3 a.m.

A few days ago we noticed that Porter had quite a few audible boogers in his nose and his nose was quite runny. His snot was clear, though, so we weren’t worried about him being sick.  We’ve used our snot sucker a few times in the past few days, but this morning at 3 a.m. he woke up screaming. David went to go put his pacifier in to see if that would appease him, and most of the time this works. However, in this case, the pacifier wasn’t going to do any good, because Porter was so stuffed up and chock full of snot and boogers. He was coughing and swallowing his snot, so yeah, I’d be crying, too. Let me tell you, those bulb suckers just don’t work very well. The few times we’ve used that thing, barely anything has come out. So, David held Porter down while I operated the snot sucker, and the amount of snot that came out of his nose was unreal. I don’t know if that much snot has ever come out of MY nose. It was disgusting and fascinating at the same time, but Porter could breathe a heck of a lot easier after using it.

So, it may be disgusting, but I’ll use the snot sucker over a bulb sucker any day.

2 thoughts on “Snot Sucker

  1. Yes. It still grosses me out. A lot. But thank you for clarifying that there is a filter in there! Why don’t they put THAT on the package?! Because I think we all picture picking boogs from our teeth. {blech} Glad Porter’s feeling better! 🙂

  2. If they had invented an electric snot sucker or ANY such contraption other than “the bulb”, I would have been the first in line and yes, my two kids were snot noses for what seemed like years! I can only believe learning how to blow their noses, I mean REALLY blow their noses was right up there with potty training!!!Glad this works well for Porter because it can be a huge issue. Looking forward to meeting MR. CUTIE soon!! Carol

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

