baby blythe

d + r = baby b

Mommy and Baby Books

1 Comment

I’ve read a lot of “mommy” books, some of which I don’t care to recommend, because they were just average or just like another book I had already read. I decided to choose my top 6 and give my thoughts on each.

Fotor0705160953

Do Chocolate Lovers Have Sweeter Babies? by Jena Pincott

All pregnant women should read this book WHILE pregnant. I have no idea why, but I found this book to be extremely fascinating. It has a lot of science and medical terminology, but it doesn’t read like a medical journal or anything like that. It’s been awhile since I read this (a year-ish), but I remember LOVING the section on gender. Since we did not find out the sex of Porter ahead of time, I really enjoyed reading about the different theories on gender. I loaned my copy out and I’ve recommended it to several people. Many of those people have come back and told me how much they loved this book, too!

Why Have Kids? By Jessica Valenti

This book could probably be viewed as controversial to many–because there are a lot of touchy/taboo subjects–but I found it to be such a refreshing read. The author discusses many “truths” and “lies” about parenting/motherhood. One of the sections I appreciated the most was a section detailing her views on breastfeeding and formula feeding. I 100% agree with her opinion on the matter: “It’s more important that your child is happy and nurtured than that they’re fed with breast milk.”  I would 100% recommend this book to any parent, but especially mothers. (To my English teacher friends, I have no idea how to properly cite a quote from a book read on a Kindle. While I could probably look this up, I’m not writing this to impress anyone, so please forgive my lack of MLA in-text citations.)

The Milk Memos by Cate Colburn Smith and Andrea Serrette

I would only recommend this book to women who a) are breastfeeding or are planning to breastfeed and b) who have to work outside of the home. This book is basically a collection of journals that some women wrote to one another while pumping at work. It was almost like a secret society of sorts, but the women wrote honestly about the struggles of working + breastfeeding. A good friend bought this for me within a few days of Porter being born and I read this during night time feedings.  If I’m being honest with myself, I admit that my first several weeks of breastfeeding were terrible not great, and I was close to quitting several times. This book provided me with a lot of comfort. It also helped me to mentally prepare for going back to work, even though I knew it was several weeks away.

Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn by Melanie Shankle

I really enjoyed this book. Shankle’s writing is so friendly and I could relate to so many sections of her book. I would recommend this to women who already have kids, though (and not people who are just pregnant without other children.) While this is of course a personal preference, I do not think I would have enjoyed the book as much if I would have read it prior to having Porter. I would not have been able to relate. I loved her description of the emotions that motherhood provides: “Even if we’ve dreamed of having babies of our own, there is nothing that prepares us for the way that moment cracks open our hearts and pours in the type of pure love we never knew existed. A love that isn’t about us but is just about wanting to love and protect this little, helpless person who will emit all manner of bodily fluids on us if given half the chance. You can’t fathom it until you experience it.” I couldn’t have explained it any better!

I was a Really Good Mom Before I had Kids by Trisha Ashworth and Amy Nobile

I read this book within my first few weeks of motherhood, and I found it to be extremely comforting and funny. Even though I was a brand new mom, I could relate to many of the anecdotes detailed in the book, and I ended up recommending it to many friends (in fact, two friends had recommended it to me!) I loved this book’s honesty: “When you’re a mother, nobody’s saying, ‘You’re doing a great job; you’re so great; what initiative, mopping up that vomit!'”

I Just Want to Pee Alone (multiple authors)

This book is a collection of short essays about motherhood, each written by a different woman.  This book had me in tears–not sappy, I just watched The Notebook tears, but ohmygodthisisfreakinghilarious tears. Within the first few pages, I was laughing out loud uncontrollably. I will say that some of the authors were naturally funnier than others, but I really did enjoy the entire book. It’s quick (it could be read in a day’s time) and it is sure to brighten anyone’s day. Many of the essays had to do with older children, so it gave me a lot to look forward to, too.

For my other moms/parents out there: What other books should I read and add to my “mommy/baby” book list?

Also, if there’s a topic you’d like me to write a post about, please leave your idea in the comments section!

One thought on “Mommy and Baby Books

  1. I was totally fascinated with Do Chocolate Lovers Have Sweeter Babies? ! It was a great read. I really liked Sparkly Green Earrings too. I would really recommend Lean In for working moms as well. It’s similar to Why Have Kids? but with a different spin!

Leave a comment